How To Become A Contractor: Getting Licensed And Bonded In Nevada

By Crystal Ignatowski on Sep 14, 2015 10:53:00 AM in

Contractor License Bonds

Find me on:

how to become a contractor in nevada


Are you ready to get your Nevada Contractors License? You’re on your way to becoming a craftsman for the great people of Nevada, but first you’ll need to get licensed.


Short on time? Check out our Contractor’s License FAQ page.


The Nevada State Contractors Board requires all contractors to have a license before they begin working in the state. This is to protect consumers from being victimized by unscrupulous individuals or companies. Here is a step-by-step guide on how you can get your Nevada Contractors License so you can be compliant and prepared:


How to Become a Contractor in Nevada



Step #1: Determine What Classification of License You Need

  • Class A: General Engineering Contractor
  • Class B: General Building Contractor
  • Class C: Specialty Contractor


A description of each classification can be found on the Nevada State Contractors Board website.



Step #2: Complete Nevada Contractor License Application

The Nevada State Contractor Surety Board will only process complete applications. A completed application will need to include:


  • Business name and address
  • Classification of license needed
  • Financial responsibility requirements
  • Experience and examination qualifications
  • Fingerprints for a criminal background check
  • Supporting documents
  • $300 non-refundable application fee



Step #3: Mail application

To either address below:

Nevada State Contractors Board
2310 Corporate Circle, Ste 200
Henderson, NV 89074




Nevada State Contractors Board
9670 Gateway Drive, Ste 100
Reno, NV 89521



Step #4: Wait to be Approved

Upon license approval, you will need to submit a $600 license fee and a Nevada Contractors License surety bond.


More on the Nevada Contractors License Bond


A Nevada Contractors License Bond is a type of surety bond that protects your clients should you perform shoddy work or not follow through on a contract.


Nevada law requires a license bond for each license issued. The Nevada State Contractors Board determines the amount of the bond. The bond can vary in amount from $1,000 to $500,000 depending on the type of license, monetary limit, and financial responsibility, experience, and character of the applicant.


The price you pay for your bond depends on your person credit history and the surety bond company that you choose to get bonded through. If you are looking to get licensed and bonded, Surety Solutions can be your answer. We have relationships with over 30 different insurance companies, so you can compare prices before buying. Have bad credit? No problem; we have bad credit options.


Our online quote generator allows you to view quotes for your bond instantly, with no obligation to buy. Want to know what you would pay for your Nevada Contractors License Bond? Your free quotes are just one click away.


Get FREE Contractor Bond Quotes Now!


Once you submit your license fee, surety bond, and any other remaining documents, then you should receive your license in the mail within 4 weeks. Good luck getting your license!



Related links:

Contractor License FAQ

How To Get Your Contractor’s License in Oregon

How Much Does A Surety Bond Cost If I Have Bad Credit?